History of the Municipality

Following the “Capodistrias Plan” and the unification of different municipalities and communities, the municipality of Souda today consists of the municipal districts of Souda, Tsikalaria and Aptera. The Municipality of Souda is an organization of the Local Administration. The Local Administration Organizations are legal entities of public law and maintain economic and administrative autonomy. The Local Administration Organizations have set as a priority the creation of new opportunities for active citizenship and public responsibility directed to all citizens. Local actions for a better society eventually have a greater impact on the development of a better state. The Local Administration institution is defined and supported by the provisions of the Constitution (article 102), which defines a 1st and 2nd degree of Administration.